Measure Twice, Cut Once

This has got to be the oldest saying in the carpenter’s book. And I think I did measure twice, at least! Anyway, here I am, the day I get to install the glass in my G&G mirror and hang it. I’m slipping the glass into the rabbets, and… huh? it’s exactly one inch too wide. I could check, but I’m willing to bet it’s not the glass cutter who screwed up the instructions. Garbage in, garbage out, as they say in software. In a glass-half-full sort of way, I guess I had a 50/50 chance of screwing up the measurement on the long side (where the glass can be re-cut) vs. the short side (where I’d have to build a new frame).

Then the question is (having never cut a piece of glass in my life, but know what the procedure is) do I get a glass cutter and do the mirror myself, or wait until Tuesday and take it by the glass shop to have them cut it right? Patience won out, thankfully. As much as I wanted to hang it today, it’ll have to wait until Tue (and the photos will, too).

But I did post a photo of the door mat I made last week, and I’ve started a new photo album for the dining room set. I just started gluing up some of the thicker stock today as I was cleaning up. Also bought a sturdy shelf set for the corner of the garage, some organizing bins, etc. I want to keep my pen-making supplies all in one spot near the drill and lathe – I’ll be turning out pens as a little meditation exercise all summer. Around the Chrismas holidays my workplace has an arts&crafts show for employees, and I want to exhibit some pens and other small wood knick-knacks this season. I’ll probably start in on some small frames, too.

Oh, I discovered that the circuit breaker for the outlet in the garage I’m using actually does work, so I’m unlikely to start an electrical fire. It looks like there are two 15 amp circuits running to the garage – one powers the lights and door, the other an outlet in the back. I don’t have any power tools that draw a full 15 amps, although the table saw comes close (and as I discovered, more than 15 when it’s overloaded). There’s a switch box connected to the other 15 amp circuit, but I can’t quite figure out how it’s wired – there are like 3 or 4 pairs of wires all meeting in that box, and some blacks are connected to whites… I think it was part of a 3-way light switch, but I’ll need to take some time to really study it before I go tinkering with re-wiring it. I’d like to have the second circuit up and running, though, so I can run my shop vac alongside other tools. I’ve used the planer and vacuum on the single 15 amp circuit, but that seems like I’m playing it too close to the edge.

On blowing the breaker – I was ripping 2″ mahogany on the table saw, something the saw should have handled relatively easily. But the edge was nowhere near straight, so as I fed the wood it started binding against the fence and blade, and the blade ground to a halt. If you remember high school physics a motor draws its peak current when it’s not moving (a spinning motor sets up a “back flow” of current the faster is spins – as the motor slows due to mechanical resistance, more current flows through it). So the blade stopped, and I didn’t turn the saw off in time. I’m glad to know the breaker works (even if I do have to march upstairs to reset it) – 15 amp circuits are really a little too light for running shop tools.

I’ll post again when the mirror is hung. πŸ™‚

One thought on “Measure Twice, Cut Once

  1. Hmmmmm, know what you mean, Larry!
    I had almost the same experience with a room divider I was making. I cut the middle section 10 cm lower than the adjacent ones. I ended up trimming the other two to size… Just as well the room divider needed to be 10 cm lower (well, that's my story and I'm sticking to it πŸ˜‰
    N

    Like

Leave a Reply

