Mirror Accomplished

I finally got to hang the mirror I’d been working on. It turns out that the mistake in cutting glass was the glass shop’s, not mine! They were gracious enough to re-do it over the counter. In hindsight, it’s a good thing I didn’t try to cut off that extra inch myself – they blew it and ruined the glass! So they cut me a whole new one on the spot. Nice place – I’ve always had good luck with Franciscan Glass in Mountain View, and recommend them to anyone.

I used strap hangers on the back, and as soon as I tried to hang it saw the problem – the wire pulling sideways actually twisted the strap hanger, and the sharp edge started to cut into strands of wire! Ooops – plan B. I used a couple of screw-eye hooks that seem a little too fragile for me (although the pair is rated to 50 pounds). “Someday” I may replace them with something a little heavier duty… Now that I’ve got the mirror placed, I may cut a matching piece of mahogany as a rail underneath it with coat hooks attached. I’ll just have to stare at it for a few days and see if it still seems like a good idea later in the week.

Note to self – photographing mirrors indoors is HARD. The flash gets fooled by the bounce-back, there are glare issues, you’ve got to be careful about maintaining the proper focus… I think the best bet for an “archival” photo is to wait for bright sunny daylight, open the windows, and use natural light.

Oh, and it looks like moving to dark ebony plugs was the answer to having slightly out of alignment plug mortises. You can’t really notice the imperfections from where I lie on the couch.

It was a good day overall; not too sore from an active weekend, had a productive work day, saw my shrink, and met a friend for dinner. I’ll post more when I have something to actually write about.

Leave a Reply

