Wild Things

I was having a not great evening energy-wise — just feeling in a funk. Rather than sit and stare at the walls I went down to the garage to turn a couple of pens. If I need to let my mind ruminate on things, it helps to keep my hands busy. And I get the satisfaction of creating something beautiful.

While I was at the lathe an old quote from D.H. Lawrence passed through my head. I first heard of it in the movie G.I. Jane – it was a theme throughout the movie.

I have never seen a wild thing feel sorry for itself. A little bird will fall dead, frozen from a bough, without ever having felt sorry for itself.

I’ve had some rough ups and downs over the past few months, and sometimes they catch up with me. Ignoring or denying the down times isn’t the answer – that’s just repressing feelings. But dwelling on them doesn’t do much, either. Tonight I acknowledged I was in a crappy space, went and did something I generally enjoy doing, and as I sit here and write I’m still feeling down in one sense but also glad that I moved and did something active this evening. And I know this feeling will pass.

That’s all. Busy day at work tomorrow: I’ve got to get up early and prep some reading, pay attention at a 3 hour meeting, and then lead a lunch discussion group (a group that discusses things over lunch, not lunch itself). 🙂

Also a bummer to go back to a 2-day weekend this Saturday! To get back to the dining table project, after gluing up some stock I need to make some templates out of 1/4″ plywood for tracing out the feet. The templates will also be used as a router template for trimming them up. It’s much easier to get the shape right on 1/4″ wood than it is on 3.5″ wood! Then a template routing bit can transfer that outline to the thick stuff. One step at a time…

Here’s to a better tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

