Within striking distance…

I’m really close to having the table finished! Boy, this has been one “learning experience” after another. I was really frustrated that one of my glue-ups was just way too cupped to flatten, so I re-ripped it, flattened the boards individually in my planer, and re-jointed and glued them. That worked out well, but then I had one panel 1/16″ thinner than the others. It doesn’t sound like much, but that also meant the two halves of the table wouldn’t meet flush (one half would be slightly raised), and I thought about shimming underneat one half… Then I decided, what the heck, why not do it right and run them all through a drum sander (if I could find one) to get them uniformly flat and thick. I would have been satisfied with my hand-flattening job if I didn’t also have to thin down 3 of the panels a bit.

So I found a great place in the Bay Area: The Sawdust Shop. What a great need to fill – the founder realized there were a lot of people living in condos and unable to have a “garage shop” of their own. So he’s set up a 4000 square foot shop with all the trimmings, and charges membership fees for folks to come and use it. It was $30 for a one-day pass, and well worth it – a local furniture maker was going to charge me $50-$100 if he were to run these through his equipment. So I got to play with their drum sander, and now I know where to go if I need that special piece of equipment of process that would just take too long to replicate in my garage.

Otherwise, not a whole lot to report. I still haven’t found a chair design I’m totally satisfied with. Even the matching chairs from the Robinson House (which this table is based on) seem less than inspired. I don’t know what I expect… There are some “modern” designs that look interesting, but aren’t “period.” But I do want to start those soon as well.

With any luck, I’ll have the top and rims finished by week’s end, and then it’ll be time for final finishing and assembly!!! Woo hoo!

I hope everyone is doing well and enjoying the transition to autumn.

One thought on “Within striking distance…

  1. Cool Larry, I was wondering where you would find a piece of equipment so expensive. You are probably one of the most patient people I know. Good trait. Thanks for the info. on my blog the other day. I will continue to keep you in suspense for now! Just stopping by to say hi!

    Like

Leave a Reply

