Coming together

It was a full weekend, and I’ve spent the past few days around people who were coughing or sneezing. This afternoon I could just feel the germs chewing away at my defenses, so I came home a bit early to hydrate and rest.

I’m done with the heavy lifting on the table – now it’s just touch-up work, staining, varnishing, and assembly. Wow! It’s not looking bad. I still see the flaws, of course, but over time I’ll probably learn to overlook them.

The next few days will involve just putting on 3 coats of varnish (24 hours drying between each coat), cleaning up some binding on the sliding rails, and then (by the weekend) I can start assembly. Holy smoke, I may have a real table by the week’s end! Nowhere to sit, of course, but that’s the next task.

I still have to make the two leaves, but that whole process, from trimming to final shape, adding the rim pieces, sanding, and staining, should take a day. They’re rectangular, so it shouldn’t take so long to fine-tune the fit between rim and edge.

I wish I could be more inspired about the chairs. Here’s the deal – there are beautiful looking chair plans that 1) either would take way too long to produce, or 2) don’t go with the period. I do have some photos and shop diagrams for the chairs that match this table, and I still think that’s the way I’m going to go. Not super fancy, but hard enough. I’ve never built chairs before, so maybe for once I don’t have to bite off the biggest challenge I can find. 😉 Especially since a joint failure on a chair means a guest may go tumbling to the floor. No thanks.

I’ll probably build one to get the bugs out of the system, and then if I like it I’ll build the rest of the set in a small production run.

So, what’s up with the rest of my life? Inquiring minds want to know. 😉 Romance is progressing nicely, thank you. No details here, though. Work has been productive and busy, and I’m starting to home in on what interests me and what doesn’t. Autumn has come too quickly, and I haven’t been biking in a while. Today is actually a good opportunity to sit still, write a bit in my blog and journal, and take stock.

Happy October!

2 thoughts on “Coming together

  1. The table looks beautiful and yes, it is nice to hear from you again. I'm really happy for you, Larry. You are a good man and deserve look and happiness. Big hugs, Heather

    Like

Leave a Reply

