Details, details

Wow, talk about a blogging hiatus. I’ve had an intense month or two, mostly work-related. But there’s something wrong when I’m not taking time to write in a journal, or a blog; I don’t like dropping off the face of the earth like that. Hopefully, I’m back on track again.

So what have I been up to? Begging for money. 😉 Seriously, I work at what is known as a “soft money” job. Not “soft money” in the political campaign/corruption sense! I’m at a non-profit research institute, and live off of a combination of grants and contracts. Mostly my group designs and evaluates educational programs and technologies. We were working on a rash of proposals to submit to the US Dept. of Education lately, and that consumed a lot of my energy. If anybody’s interested I’ll write more about my day job.

Meanwhile… the table is just a smigeon away from done. The photo above shows my check-fit of the top to the frame. I’ve since completed the leaves, and today did a lot of clean-up work getting them all to line up properly. Or at least trying to… I’d take a picture of it in all it’s 7-foot+ glory, but it’s got a bunch of my junk all over it right now. Soon, though.

I’ve also been side-tracked with some production work for an upcoming craft show at work. So far it’s coin banks made from discarded post-office box doors, and fine pens. I discovered some sites devoted to tongue drums (those are those wooden boxes with decorative slits cut into the top – you hit different parts of the top to get different tones), and I can see that’s going to be the nephews’ (and any other kids’ in my life) Christmas gifts this year. 🙂

So the theme this week is details. The tops and leaves of the table don’t line up perfectly, and I’m deciding how to tackle that (trim the edges a bit? leave it be?). Then I still have to produce and install roughly 60 decorative ebony “plugs” for the final touch. About as interesting as cleaning tile grout, but it needs to be done.

I don’t know whether it’s the change of seasons or what, but I’ve been in an “angry at the world” mood the past few weeks. Maybe it’s the effect of begging for your tax dollars to keep a roof over my head. 🙂 Or maybe it’s the cumulation of a bad war, a narcisstic sociopath trying to cash in on the murder of his ex wife and her friend, a general neglect of our environment and youth… Do you ever have those days when you wish you could play god?

OK, enough of a come-back blog for now. I’ll post more as productivity continues. Stay tuned, and have a happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

