Got chair parts

Hi all,

Well, here I am again. Not much to report wood-wise. Chair parts are shaped and sanded. Now I need to do some fine-tuning to the fit, dry fit the chairs to make sure all the joints are tight, tweak some more, do a fine sanding and staining, glue, and enjoy. ๐Ÿ™‚

OK, maybe I’ll branch out into non-woodworking a bit…

I’ve been getting a lot of mileage out of a pretty simple idea: sorting out the difference between feelings and the stories we tell about them. For example, I may be feeling down in the dumps. My head starts casting about for causes: it’s the holiday seasion; low daylight; my job sucks; my relationship sucks; I suck… OK, you can see how this can drive me crazy. So I’m trying to just stop with the first sentence: I feel down in the dumps. Yep, down. Pain in the pit of my stomach. Don’t feel like getting up…. and on…

What I’m learning is that the feeling passes if I just sit and acknowledge it without 1) panicking, and/or 2) trying to tell myself a story about it. Maybe this is obvious to everyone else, but it’s a new practice for me. Sometimes feelings just happen, like the weather. Yeah, there are ultimate causes, but knowing about low pressure systems doesn’t really alter the fact that it’s raining out.

My sweetie has been reading a book called Radical Acceptance – when I get back to pleasure reading (not quite there yet) I’ll put it on the list. Meanwhile, I’ll just sit and feel. At some point soon I’d like to start up a daily meditation practice. We currently have a group that sits at work once a week, but daily would be better. I still haven’t committed yet, but am thinking about it…

Meanwhile, tomorrow I get to give an invited talk at this National Science Foundation workshop called Academies for Young Scientists. It’s a program for informal science learning targeted at getting kids interested in science. I’m supposed to talk about assessment of student learning in the context of program evaluations. Now, I’m all for knowing what sort of impact these programs are having on kids, but can we plesae do this without resorting to “school-like” tests? That’ll be the topic of my talk, but don’t expect any easy answers! ๐Ÿ˜‰

More to come soon…

Leave a Reply

