Dang! 2 out of 3 isn't good enough…

I guess I should expect occasional major blunders…

Take a gander at this photo, with the chair back all glued up nice. Curved rails at the crest and waist. But wait! There are empty slots between the two legs where a 3rd rail should be! Ooops!

So how am I gonna fix this? It’s a mortise and tenon joint (“tab and slot” for you paper doll folders), so you can’t just slip the rail in. I think I’m going to have to do some sort of fancy floating tenon on one end, or maybe crosscut the whole rail in two, insert the ends, and join it back together with a spline or scarf joint. Jeez this could look like a mess… But the alternative – cutting out the two rails I glued and making new ones – would involve making a new set of curved rails, setting up the saw to cut tenons… all of which is a bit of a pain.

OK, time for bed. Hopefully a creative solution will occur to me in the meantime…

Leave a Reply

