Swirlies, swirlies

I’ve been plagued with the “swirlies” lately, an artifact of using a random orbital sander on wood. They’re a well-known beginner’s mistake, and I know what the standard causes are: too much pressure on the sander ; clogged sandpaper ; moving the sander too quickly (probably my particular blunder here); moving through grits too quickly, etc.

If you blow up the photo above you’ll see some “swirly” marks on the chair. You can’t really see them from normal viewing distance, thankfully, but *I* know they’re there. I was plagued with them tonight while working on other chair legs, and took some time to experiment with how to best make them go away.

I like investigations. My work as a researcher is largely investigation-based, and that’s what keeps it interesting — having problems (socially important problems) and not quite knowing what the answers are, yet. If I knew all the answers I’d get bored pretty quickly.

So now I’m trying to turn my problems and learning mistakes into investigations. Try a lighter touch of the sander, a finer grit, slowing down the movement, until the swirlies disappear.

Funny, “swirlies” are my sweetie’s and my pet term for emotional turbulence, too. Maybe I should try some systematic investigation of those, too. 😉 That’s what meditation does for me, allowing me to sit back and just let the swirlies happen, to understand their nature better.

I’m off on vacation soon, so this blog probably won’t be updated until I’m back (but who knows, I hear the Internet has reached Maine, too!) I hope everyone’s summer is going well.

4 thoughts on “Swirlies, swirlies

  1. swirlies….what a great term for emotional turmoil. My swirlies often surface as the "cyclone" variety. LOL.. I hope you have a grand vacation and come back ready to tackle all the swirlies presented to you… even those involving wood. Zee Zee

    Like

  2. swirlies….what a great term for emotional turmoil. My swirlies often surface as the "cyclone" variety. LOL.. I hope you have a grand vacation and come back ready to tackle all the swirlies presented to you… even those involving wood. Zee Zee

    Like

  3. Swirlies ehh? Well heck. Life is full of them down swirlies. The thought of having smooth grain with no flaws seems an impossibility. Hope your vacation was restful and life is feeling less turbulent. Curious how the family was back in Maine. Yeah school is back! I wish I had had a bit more down time but hey, I think I'm ready!

    Like

Leave a Reply

