Anybody still here?

… or should I turn the lights off on my way out?

I realized that part of my incentive to blog was to contribute to the communal conversation, but for whatever reason a lot of my Y360 buddies have gone silent. HZ was working on getting internet connection, and ZeeZee went over to Multiply for a spin. I miss So Daiho’s daily postings – I think he too has gone to Multiply or some more fertile ground.

Bummer! Y360 was my first communal blogging experience. I hope whatever this transmogrifies into draws new users and interests. I’ve checked out TBD.com, but somehow the way the conversation threads are structured just isn’t doing it for me. I think I prefer reading people’s periodic dumps and updates to a “thread” of back-and-forth with a group of people. Or maybe there’s just a subtle site design issue on TBD that makes it less enticing…

Anyway, what have I been up to… I’ve taken a break from the wood shop – chairs #5 & 6 are just about ready to be joined together, after which it’s seat upholstery and lots of detail cleanup. The weather has been beautiful, and I’m taking my annual spring fitness kick more seriously than usual. I think some of the mindfulness meditation and other personal growth work is having an impact – I noticed I’m much more self-loving and compassionate with my workouts nowadays, and that makes them more fun, too. I’ve gotten back on my bike, and am looking forward to Bike To Work day Thursday (15 miles each way to work over the Dunbarton Bridge). My goal starting Thursday is to bike-commute to work at least one day a week, preferably two.

I went to a day-long workshop at Spirit Rock on Sunday on Equanimity and the Brain – a combination of Dharma and neuro-psychology. The talks focused on how we’re wired for particular responses to situations (mainly to keep ourselves from being eaten) and how modern life can keep triggering fight/flight/fright responses. Mindfulness and meditation, and this idea of “equanimity” (neither craving pleasure nor fearing pain) work well with recent insights in psychology and neuroscience. The day-long talks are on the WiseBrain.org audio page, under the “Neurodharma” heading (bottom of the list). WiseBrain.org is a pretty interesting site, overall.

Oh, I’m also suffering the consequences of unsafe petting. 🙂 I came across this gorgeous black Chow mix on the trail and asked the owner if I could say “hi”. I petted the dog all over, then went over to the parking lot to stretch before driving home. Scratched my neck, my waist, up and down my calf… and had poison oak all over my hands from the dog. This is the worst case of it I’ve ever had in my life. When I first noticed the breakout I showered and scrubbed carefully (or so I thought) but it wasn’t enough. I look like I’ve taken a few to many high speed spills on my bike – my right calf is pretty much just one giant abrasion, and I’ve got big spots on my thigh, left arm, side of my face… it ain’t pretty. It’s been a few years since I’ve had bad poison oak, so I guess it was time to re-learn my lesson.

I hope everyone is doing well, and that we all manage to reconnect in whatever form Y360 eventually takes.

5 thoughts on “Anybody still here?

  1. HI Larry, I pop in here from time to time.. but it is a ghost town. I am please to hear that you are on the excercise regeme. I wish I were. But the poison Ivy thing, jeepers hon. Ouch. Take care sweetness…. don't forget me ((((Larry))))

    Like

  2. Hi Larry
    I was drawn back by a comment from my friend Abelle (funny that that my two best friends here are a devout christian and sworm atheist :-))
    Oh dear you sound a bit fed up with the scene here. I've been thinking i should get back into the swing again. It was good so not sure why i drifted so badly. Take care x

    Like

  3. Hi Larry! I visit from time to time but i easily get fed up trying to post comments after 2 or 3 attempts and still it would not post. I'm in Multiply too but i seldom post blogs now, just content to visit and read my friends' blogs.

    Like

  4. Okay, so it's nice to know that you are still around. Yes, indeed I can't quite quit this site. I've gone other places simply to come right back. I'm to the point that to simply just write is good enough for me. So, how goes it? Perhaps we should get together for another hike. Glad to see you are focusing on the health and mind. I need to work on that myself. Pretty easy to get lazy. I this blog is pretty darn old. You better update it. LOL Hugs, Heather

    Like

  5. Okay, so it's nice to know that you are still around. Yes, indeed I can't quite quit this site. I've gone other places simply to come right back. I'm to the point that to simply just write is good enough for me. So, how goes it? Perhaps we should get together for another hike. Glad to see you are focusing on the health and mind. I need to work on that myself. Pretty easy to get lazy. I this blog is pretty darn old. You better update it. LOL Hugs, Heather

    Like

Leave a Reply

