"Virtual" communities

OK, I’m definitely out of the blogging habit. A lot has to do with the depopulation of the Y360 world – while I hope that the new, improved edition coming this fall is a significant improvement, I’ve since moved my “social networking” fun over to a Facebook page.

But that’s a different form of community. On Facebook, although you can search random people by geography, interest, etc., it seems that most people join because they’re friends of someone already on, then figure out they have friends in common, etc. I haven’t met anybody new on FB (although in theory I could). Whereas it seemed that Y360 started out as a bunch of strangers – it was blog and posting oriented. By and by you find people who share your interests and start inviting them to your network. Somehow, I haven’t been doing that with FB.

Then of course there’s TBD, but I could never really get into the user interface experience on that site, so I haven’t been back in a while.

So in the spirit of this blog, what life lessons have I been learning? Hmmm… Hard to encapsulate into a pithy line or two. I’ve been back into my bicycling again fairly steadily, and am gratified at the slow but steady improvement in my muscle tone and weight. I’ve taken a break from the woodshop during the late summer daylight, so missed my self-imposed deadline of having chairs and table done by my birthday (which is next Monday). All in all, life is pretty good right now.

I was at a conference of researchers working on US Dept. of Education grants last week, and while I had a few personal epiphanies one in particular stands out. An old grad school colleague of mine is living the life I thought I would be having right now – married and a tenured professor at a local university. But when we were comparing jobs, it turned out we each thought the grass was greener in each other’s turf! He envied that I could spend nearly 100% of my time working on research projects (since university committee work and other forms of “service” can chew up lots of time), while I envied him his flexibility, teaching, and ability to focus on what mattered to him (even if only part of the time). I’m having my annual “maybe I should get on the academic job market” rumination again, but am not feeling like it’s a life-or-death urge. Just trying to sit with the thought and see what appeals to me so much about it.

That’s all for now – just a short update to say I’m still here. I imagine when Y360 eventually morphs into its new incarnation many of us will decide to stay or go for good. Meanwhile, this will continue to be my “home” blog.

I hope you’re all well!

5 thoughts on “"Virtual" communities

  1. Happy Birthday to you. Happy Birthday to you. Happy Birthday, Dear Larry. Happy Birthday to you. And many more… So what's up? We are both self reflective. Yes, indeed it's good to get out and meet the world. In return you figure out that your life isn't that bad. Glad you are biking. I seriously need to get on a health kick. It's coming. I'll keep you posted.

    Like

  2. Hello Larry! I miss my friends and the interactions we have here in 360. Good thing a few of them are still around but posting difficulties have turned off some of us. Let's just hang on and check on each other from time to time.

    Like

  3. Hello Larry! I miss my friends and the interactions we have here in 360. Good thing a few of them are still around but posting difficulties have turned off some of us. Let's just hang on and check on each other from time to time.

    Like

  4. Hello Larry! I miss my friends and the interactions we have here in 360. Good thing a few of them are still around but posting difficulties have turned off some of us. Let's just hang on and check on each other from time to time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

