On putting things out there

NaBloPoMo #8 – Saturday evenings are not my optimal blogging time; this will be short.

I came across a review of a book entitled Show Your Work!: 10 Ways to Share Your Creativity and Get Discovered. It’s a timely piece for me; I’ve been struggling with how to present half-baked thoughts in a blog and other media. As a craftsperson, musician, and even in my professional life I don’t like to present work that doesn’t have a bit of polish on it. As a teacher it’s different – I see giving students a peek behind the curtain as critical to helping them grow as learners. That is, a teacher should be a model student first and foremost, exhibiting not only the skills of inquiry but how to handle the emotional destress that “not knowing (yet)” can bring.

Writing a blog is different than jotting down thoughts in a private journal. There’s a feeling of accountability to a reader; if somebody is going to click and spend even a few minutes perusing these words, I ought to be giving them something worthy of their time. On the other hand, I am feeling the need to start expressing only partially formed ideas, particular around the grand questions of education and learning (one reason I started this blog in the first place). Of course, one can do both: express half-baked ideas in a succinct and readable form.

Given the strength of the review on the Brain Pickings website, I’m going to put Show Your Work at the top of my “to read” pile.

Leave a Reply

