Passing the point of no return

Tonight I joined the guitar top to the sides. This is a non-reversible operation, so if I messed it up, I’d be rebuilding a new top AND a new set of sides. Fortunately, it went relatively smoothly. I triple-checked the fit and alignment, did a little last minute trimming of a couple of braces, dry-fit the clamps before gluing, then pulled the trigger. Below are the before and after pictures – tomorrow I’ll unclamp everything and see how it all looks as a unit.

I feel like I’m on a bit of a roll now – a lot of design decisions have been made and committed to. Now it’s “just” about careful execution. I’m going to try to keep up at least weekly work on this through the holidays, when I’ll have a more concentrated span of time for shop work.

Ready for gluing

Ready for gluing

Glued, clamped, weighted down

Glued, clamped, weighted down

Leave a Reply

