Daily disciplines

Okay, I’m exhausted at the end of a long day and not feeling the creative writing mojo at the moment. Should I bother writing anything at all?  I can’t pull citations out of the air at the moment, but I’m sure I’ve read this advice from countless published authors: write daily, even if you’re not in the mood.

Of course, the same advice applies to musical practice – pick up the instrument daily, if only to keep the fingers limber and those neural connects well-trained. Oh, and let’s not forget daily exercise. Or meditation practice. Add in a full-time job, and life can start to feel a bit over-scheduled.

At times I notice that I’m saving the end of the day – after giving my best hours to work – for “me” time, time when I want to be most in tune with my inner state to read, write, or practice music. That’s does not always work out very well – what does it say that I slot my self-care into the “if I have enough energy” time of the day? I would do well to try to be more of a morning person for some things, particularly the music practice and exercise. I’m planning to start bike-commuting to a new job come December, and we’ll see how well that helps my energy.

Honestly, though, at this point I’m just wasting keystrokes. It’s time to just rest and recharge; tomorrow’s a fresh day.

Oh, and because Facebook posts the first photo in a blog page, here’s a cat in a box – how original!

IMG_3401

Leave a Reply

